PDA

View Full Version : keepers?

Dean
01-22-2005, 06:21 PM
Just curious. Do you guys keep any of the steelies that you bring in?

Don't get me wrong. I'm all for catch-and-release. But, I do like to eat fish now and again.

David Lee
01-22-2005, 06:28 PM
Hi Dean , I never keep anything , but would have NO problem whacking a small (under 5 lb.) Steelie if it was clipped . Only problem is I couldn't catch it again ...... D.J.L.

Dean
01-22-2005, 08:07 PM
Thanks for the reply, David. It would appear that you are one of many conscientious fisherman. In my very limited experience, I have yet to see a *fly* fisherman keep a steelhead! I'm new to the Sac area and trying to get started in fly fishing. I was afraid of looking like a poacher if I drag one of those hatchery fish outta of the river :lol:

Gregg
01-22-2005, 09:59 PM
After seeing gearheads drag steelies out of the water with a double treble hook, then jamming a rope into its gills, I just couldn't bring myself to keep anything. I think if the fish population was substantial then I might feel better about keeping a fish or two, but I'm not sure if the present population is large enough yet. Also, I know mercury levels are an issue with many valley fish but is it also a problem with steelhead? What a great day it would be if we could keep some healthy fish without risking future populations...

Darian
01-22-2005, 10:36 PM
Hello everyone,..... I like to eat fish of any sort but believe that native stocks should get as much help as possible until they're re-established. I release most of the anadromous fish I catch. However, catch/release is a personal choice where not mandated.

Now, having said that, I'm not overly offended by "gearheads" as most of them I've observed fish legally and do not exceed limits on Hatchery fish. I certainly would keep a hatchery bred fish caught from tidewater but not in the valley. This is due to personal taste in eating not conservation.

Bill Kiene semi-retired
01-23-2005, 12:45 AM