PDA

View Full Version : Ah, memories....

Hairstacker
01-20-2005, 02:13 AM
Here's a question to toss out there -- what was the pattern that caught you your first fish on a fly you tied yourself? This one was mine, a Rick's Caddis. #16 Tiemco 3761, black thread, and two colors of dubbing. I recall I tied 3 of these before I tied one I was willing to fish with, ha. Caught me a rainbow on the Silver Fork, American. :)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/Sachlil/Rockworm3.jpg

SullyTM
01-20-2005, 11:40 AM
Hairstacker...I've been tying for about 1 1/2 years and the Rick's Caddis was my first fly. My first fish was a Chinook Salmon caught with a Mickey Fin in Walnut Creek, near Concord last year. SullyTM

Darian
01-20-2005, 11:52 AM
I started tying a lengthy time ago.... My first fishable fly was a mosquito (dry). Probably didn't look much like one but it caught my first trout in the upper San Joaquin in the area of the Devils Postpile. 8) Don't ask me how but I cast it on a spinning rod without benefit of a fly line or bubble. Flipped it out there (length of the rod) and fed it some line....

This monumental event happened about 1954..... :D

Ken Miller
01-20-2005, 06:20 PM
In seeing the Rick's Caddis discussed by two individuals in the same thread, I can tell I'm not the only one that started out with the Skip Morris book on Fly Tying Instruction.

Correct am I?

'First fly in the book that you are instructed to tie!

Regards,

Ken Miller
So Cal

Hairstacker
01-20-2005, 09:59 PM