PDA

View Full Version : Flies on the American

Thom
01-19-2005, 10:18 AM
[/b] I'm new to the American River(first ever trip was yesterday) and would like some suggestions on what flies to try, including hook size, while fly fishing for steelhead during the winter spawning run. For what it's worth, I have 3 wt., 6 wt. and 8 wt. outfits. I've been tying for about one year so any guideance would be appreciated. Thanks. Thom

Darian
01-19-2005, 02:10 PM
Hi Thom,..... When you get a chance, read the reply of David Lee under "American River" posted below by Jay M. David summarizes what is needed very well.

Bill Kiene semi-retired
01-20-2005, 09:58 PM
These are some of the flies they have been using lately for indicator fishing:

Size 12/14 nymphs work well. Something dark or green/olive with a bead head, flash back and even rubber legs.

Small egg imitations

San Juan Worms

Alvien imitations

For swinging you can try anything dark, heavy with a spot of color and a little flash (Egg Sucking Bugger/Leech) or a bright steelhead fly like a Comet or Flame.

Try 2x Seagar Grand Max FC tippet too.

CW
01-21-2005, 09:07 PM
Thom -