PDA

View Full Version : Fly Colors

Salmonriver
01-27-2022, 11:23 AM
Question, I have been fishing for over 40 years and this year a buddy of mine has gotten me so dead set on fly fishing now. It is something that I have wished I done years ago. Anyways, what makes a fly color "the one" for the day?

For instance, one day I could throw a Red Copper John and hammer the trout. Then it does nothing but if I change to a gold color or brown, that one works. What is that you guys do to say, hey today looks like a red day versus a copper or silver one. I know the old saying, dark days, dark colors but sometimes it not true. Appreciate any input. Be safe on the water! Right now I am at about 21" for my personal best bow in a river.

Carl Blackledge
01-27-2022, 12:31 PM
Only the fish know why

Darian
01-27-2022, 02:32 PM
When Salmon or Steelhead fishing, can't argue against that statement. I do believe that old premise, "bright day, bright fly; Dark day, dark fly" as it has served me well over the years. Obviously, nothing works every time, so, when whatever you're doing isn't working be ready to adapt and change....

Jcolin
01-28-2022, 07:12 AM
It certainly seemed that way on the Eel river last weekend. Very bright outside with sun on water and my buddy and I both hooked into an adult on orange flies with other grabs. Didn't get any interest on black flies. Salmon river, I'd think its more of a steelhead/salmon thing. Trout can be color picky too, but trout fishing is more a matter of actually trying to present something that imitates what they are eating, at least much more so than steelhead fishing, whether it's mayfly, stonefly, caddis, nymph, emerger, adult etc. Other than fishing a Red Copper John or San Juan Worm sometimes, for trout the flies I fish tend to be olive, black, brown or rust colored, not so much bright colors like pink, blue, chartreuse, purple, orange etc. as I will for winter steelhead.

Carl Blackledge
01-29-2022, 01:52 PM
Darian,