PDA

View Full Version : Salmon/steelhead near Fort Bragg?

Natekursow
11-10-2020, 06:44 PM
Thinking of heading up to the Fort Bragg/Caspar area around Thanksgiving and just wondering if there are any steelhead/salmon

streams/locations anyone knows about.

Thanks!

NK

fishing&beyond
11-10-2020, 08:17 PM
I've been fishing in that area for 2 years now so I think I can help you out a little. You will be going at a very early time of the year. If we get enough rain by then the sand bars should be popped. Fish as close as you can to the mouth of the stream at this time and you might get a shot of some early run fish coming in. The run starts to trickle in late December-Jan and continues until March.

Ten Mile River, Big River, and the Noyo River are the main fisheries around FB that have the largest runs of fish. There are some smaller streams that fish well just north of them as well. Fish the estuary sections (slow-moving tidal water 250 ft upstream from the mouth) with a bright streamer on a sink tip or an indicator with a bright pink worm or egg. This is the most productive way I catch adult steelhead and they fight the strongest here. Call the Low Flow Hotline for the region before you go out (707)-822-3164 as the wardens up there will be out looking for fishermen if the water isn't high enough. To find the other streams in the area use the Fishing Regulations Map, it shows where streams are in blue that you are allowed to fish as well as the regulations for that water.

https://apps.wildlife.ca.gov/sportfishingregs/

Good Luck!

DPLee
11-11-2020, 09:47 AM