PDA

View Full Version : What Happened To The Perch?

thunder28
09-20-2018, 07:35 AM
Larry S and I have been fishing Black's Beach for @ 18 years now. When we started perch were everywhere. We'd easily have over 30+ fish days in the few hours spent. We took them for granted always in search of corbina,spotfin,halibut or other more "respectable" fish. When all else failed, we knew we could count on the perch being there willing to bite. Over the years though their numbers began to shrink. Especially the last five years. We blamed it on water temperature, lack of sand crabs, bean clams, etc.. But they didn't return even when those conditions were great. This year we've caught only a few and this month so far none. I was wondering if this situation is common on other beaches or unique to Black's. Anyone have any theories? I really miss those guys.

Darian
09-20-2018, 02:53 PM
You might have to expand your horizons a bit. Perch are being caught in other areas of SoCal, according to Facebook group "Cali Coast Surf Fishing (California surf anglers)" posts/photo's. Maybe a trip or two is in order.... :cool:

Larry S
09-22-2018, 04:46 PM
Darian,
Our stretch of Black's probably covers close to three miles; from just north of Scripps
to just south of the LG towers at Torrey. I frequently check the flificker site as well as the the surf
report on SD Fishing forums. In addition, I read the weekly Surf Fishing reports in the Western
Outdoor News. Pretty much have to look north of Santa Barbara for perch activity.
My guess is that the perch are feeding in other zones, probably in deeper water.
Why? That's the $64 question.
Best,
Larry S

Lew Riffle
09-23-2018, 08:37 AM