PDA

View Full Version : Silver Fork AR

KSB209
04-17-2018, 11:09 AM
First post here but have been reading the boards for awhile now. A lot of great info being shared.

So maybe someone can help me. I am relatively new to fly fishing but have been “trying” off and on for some time. I want to get going again. I plan on heading to the Silver Fork of the American for the opener in a couple weeks if it is not blow out. My knowledge of “matching the hatch” is almost nonexistent. What flies should I bring with me? I’ll have a 4wt rod with floating line and a 2nd spool with a sink tip. If needed I also have a 6wt with the same types of lines too but I really think my 4wt will be sufficient up there.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Sheepdog8404
04-17-2018, 11:32 AM
Welcome to the forum! I bet the Silver Fork will be blown still but if you’re eager to go, why not check it out and report back on the conditions. I’d take the 4wt with both lines. If the water is high, fish small streamers in the softer water. If you find good pools throw a big bushy dry like a Stimulator with a heavy nymph dropper. Keep it simple and they’ll eat.

KSB209
04-17-2018, 07:22 PM
I was planning to take a look this weekend if I have time. Will post what I see if I do

JasonB
04-17-2018, 09:54 PM
Definitely on the high side right now. Dreamflows has an estimate flow for the silver fork (just an estimate, but it’s usually at least in the right ballpark range) http://www.dreamflows.com/graphs/day.624.php. I’d venture that much above 300-350cfs would be tough fishing for the most part? Clarity should be fine, but if it were me I’d look to some smaller stuff right now until the snowmelt starts to abate a bit.