PDA

View Full Version : We have thousands of fly fishers who have gone two-handed.

Bill Kiene semi-retired
01-05-2018, 01:56 PM
Sacramento is a hot bed for Spey / two-handed fly fishing.

Mostly because of the wonderful Lower American River.

Secondly because Jeff Putnam brought top people like Simon Gawesworth and Dec Hogan here.

The only downside to all this two handed fishing is our indicator sales have fallen off some.

Most are swinging flies for Steelhead.

Some are swinging flies for trout in larger streams with light two-handed rods.

Now they are thinking of taking their two-handers to Alaska.

A small number are going to Argentina for large Sea Run Brown trout.

We see a big interest in Atlantic Salmon now too.

Some are overhead casting on the Atlantic surf.

Others are overhead casting on lakes for big trout.

Where are you thinking of going with your two-handed fly rods?

cjkohen
01-05-2018, 03:23 PM
Because I'm still learning....Watt Ave. :)

PV_Premier
01-05-2018, 03:34 PM

The only downside to all this two handed fishing is our indicator sales have fallen off some.

HA! ;)

I use a bobber w/ my two handed switch rods at Pyramid. Roll casting on certain beaches is a lot easier than overhand and sometimes those longer casts are needed to reach the fish. If I have to roll cast all day I'd much rather have a 2 handed rod.

I also use a bobber and a switch rod for the egg bite at times...but have now mostly moved to 10' single handers for that application as I find it better for mending.

I've seen a few switch rods and bobbers around the Truckee when the water is high. They seem to have a bit of an advantage for heavy spring time indo rigs relative to single hand sticks.

My 2 handers though get by far the most usage for swinging on the Trinity, LAR, and Lower Yuba. This summer, I am planning to take them up to Canada to swing up some bull trout...time and $$ permitting.

Trouter925
01-05-2018, 04:25 PM