PDA

View Full Version : Pegging beads...more controversial than pineapple on pizza???

Gregg
12-16-2017, 02:01 PM
Haven’t posted here for a while, been fishing a ton. Had a somewhat humorous interaction a few months back and been on my mind. Went into Kiene’s to pick up some 8mm beads and pegs, selection was pretty darn slim and when I asked where the pegs / beads were one of the employees responded with “I don’t know, I would never peg a bead. Maybe somewhere over there...”. I wasn’t even bent about the customer service thing, I didn’t take it for that big of a deal, I was just more curious about why some people get all uppity about pegging beads and what the actual experience is with it. My experience has been that trout tend to take eggs deeper for some strange reason, I’m not a trout scientist so I have no idea if that’s a thing, but when I fish an egg pattern more often than not I’m reaching way down their gullett with my pliers to get the damn thing out, which I imagine is stressing that fish + increased time being out of the water. When I fish a pegged bead the hook isn’t almost ALWAYS in the jaw, typically on the outside, and I can unhook and release the fish while it’s entirely in the water without ever touching it. Quick and easy.

I expect the con perspective to be something about “ur flossing der fish!!!” but come on...there’s a 1” gap between the hook and the bead, we aren’t talking about dragging 20 yards of mono with a treble hook across the river here. There’s longer gaps on stinger hooks on streamers. Most guides I know roll their eyes at the criticism and peg beads all day, curious what everyone’s angle is and if I’m missing a valid argument against it. Is it just too damn effective? Is it more ethical to turn that plastic into fibers and tie it onto the shank instead of melting that same plastic and floating it above the hook?

And most importantly, have you even had pineapple on pizza??? It’s great. People are crazy if they think otherwise.