PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about bamboo

Bob Loblaw
06-28-2017, 08:28 AM
I've got that itch to buy another fly rod. I was looking at my collection in the garage last night trying to figure out where there might be a gap, an unmet need, and sadly I just couldn't rationally justify the purchase of another stick. Then it hit me. Bamboo. I don't have a bamboo rod! Happy days.

So, are these mass produced rods like Headwaters any good? Is there such a thing as an "entry level $250" bamboo rod? or do I need to take out a second mortgage to get something that casts well? is it better to buy used or is that a risky proposition.

hwchubb
06-28-2017, 10:42 AM
I'm not an expert, but I have rebuilt some older, economy rods (Montagues). Then I cast a Leonard that a friend inherited, and there is no comparison. I've since cast some other higher end rods, and they are beautiful in hand. I've found the less expensive rods tend to be sloppier, heavier, and not a lot of fun to cast generally. If it's your first boo, I would really suggest casting it before you buy. It's also worth the second mortgage, although I'm sure there are some hidden gems out there. Definitely worth taking your time and enjoying the seduction process...

Baja Fly Fisher
06-28-2017, 11:36 AM
Bamboo rods... I go to a lot of garage sales and every now and then I come across a bamboo rod. Most of them are the nickel dime stuff but every now and then you can find a gem. I once found a bamboo rod at a garage sale the came in a triangular case. According to the lady who was doing the sale, she said that her husband use to fly fish and he bought the pole a number of years ago but never got to use it. Since it had .one empty slot on the rod case, that if i wanted the rod I could have it for $5.00. But I would need to find a tip. Damn, I started shaking so bad I couldn't get a $5.00 bill out of my pocket fast enough.