PDA

View Full Version : Ken Heimbecker

pgw
01-05-2017, 04:45 PM
Ken Heimbecker who opened The Midge Fly Shop in San Jose in the mid '70s passed away in Rancho Murieta early in December, 2016.

In May of 2014, I wrote the following as the "President's Message" in the Mount Tamalpias Fly Fishers newsletter.

My Mentor
Mentor: A trusted counselor or guide, a tutor or coach; to counsel, guide, tutor, or coach.

A lot of us can look to a fishing friend for help and encouragement which provides us with assistance necessary to cast, match the hatch, tie flies, read the water, or any other skills believed essential to the sport of fly fishing. I have learned about fly fishing through classes, books, time on the water, and from information provided by fishing acquaintances who are both famous and unknown. The quality information came from my “mentor” Ken.

I met Ken when he was engaged in a labor of love, owning a small fly shop in the South Bay. Ken was an engineer by trade and when he got tired of the 9 to 5 of design, he opened his fly shop. I spent a lot of time in the shop, refining my tying technique, listening to accomplished fly fishers who stopped in for coffee and to win a few cribbage games from the guy. Ken became my mentor through association. We started fishing together in 1978 and over 35 years, we fished in California, Oregon, Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, and Utah. From Ken, I learned patience when working a pod of feeding fish; I learned the value of sitting and watching how the water moved and the reason why the birds were working the trees and the air above the water. When he handed me his custom made rod and coached me to a 20 inch Cutthroat on that rod I finally understood how a different casting stroke as well as the difference in rod action worked to present a fly in a feeding lane in a manner that tricked the fish into taking the artificial when there were plenty of naturals from which to choose. Ken and I got chased by a Bison Bull in Yellowsto