PDA

View Full Version : McCloud Recon

rh crank
05-03-2016, 08:36 PM
Stopped at the McCloud River Saturday in the area referred to as Fowlers. Hiked the short stretch between Lakin Dam and Upper Falls campgrounds. The river seemed in perfect shape for the opener but was surprised to see exactly zero fishermen. Anybody know about this section? Is it fished out or wa?

lcpl.allan
05-07-2016, 01:00 PM
Not quite sure the area you are talking about, I've only fished the McCloud a couple times. I'm headed up there next week. Are you talking about the damn at Lake McCloud or is there another damn out there? I'm still learning the area. (Plus, when I get back I'll let you know how bad the fishing is so you won't have to waste your time going back there. :D:D)

rh crank
05-09-2016, 05:37 PM
lc, Lakin Dam is far upstream from Lake McCloud. It's more of a pond with spillway that was used years ago by the timber folks. This very small dam is above the series of falls on the upper McCloud. But from this dam to Upper Falls is beautiful water with no fishermen.

StevenB
05-10-2016, 08:23 AM
So, short answer to your question:
Upper McCloud (above McCloud Dam and lake) is considered a put and take fishery. Stocked by DFW and fished a lot in the summer. Not heavily fished around the opener. Does have a reasonable population of smallish wild fish, mostly in the parts below Lakin Dam, also has browns and brookies in it.

Lower McCloud (below McCloud Dam) is considered the fly water, lots of fishers on the opener.

Want to know more, feel free to give me a call.

lcpl.allan
05-23-2016, 12:46 PM
Thanks guys. I'm not extremely familiar with the McCloud. I've fished the lower a few times now.