PDA

View Full Version : Undamn the KLamath

Andy
04-06-2016, 08:21 AM
Heading in the right direction, finally!

http://www.opb.org/news/article/klamath-dam-removal-plan-revived/

njbeast
04-06-2016, 06:15 PM
Interesting there is no evidence of native american fish camps above the location of the present day Iron Gate Dam on the Klamath...there a hieroglyphs, Indian burial grounds...but no fish camps...thought that was part of the historical claim? I'm just saying...

Andy
04-07-2016, 02:41 PM

Just saying what?

njbeast
04-07-2016, 10:54 PM
Andy,
Just saying...I have been fishing that river for twenty five years. I have met and discussed the watershed with many of the locals. I believe all four should be removed and the original watercourse restored... But EVERYONE involved in the decision wants some personal gain...farmers, natives, fishermen, Pacificorp... And will the RIVER be healthier???? What about the creeks and streams associated with the river? How will this affect the salmon spawning on Bogus Creek, the brown trout spawning habitat on Shovel Creek. Will there be enough flow to clear sediment from behind the dams? Just saying...there is always more than meets the eye. Beast

Rick J
04-08-2016, 08:31 AM
The upper Klamath tribes had water rights restored and this is the stick used to get resolution with the various groups including farmers for water allocations - some of the original agreement fell apart with Congress inaction but currently being re-visited and hopefully worked out - there is active restoration to help the upper watersheds. I too have concerns about the impacts of sediment flow in the lower river and expect it will have a negative impact for at least a couple of years not only on fishing opportunity but on the fish coming in but in the long term it has to be a good thing for the fish - lets hope for a couple of good el nino years when the dams come down!!

Andy
04-08-2016, 09:18 AM