PDA

View Full Version : Shuutle by eBike or Bike?

JayDubP
03-02-2016, 03:55 PM
Have any of you used a bike or electric bike to shuttle yourself from takeout to put in?

I am especially interested in any experience with folding bikes and really interested in experience with folding electric bikes-- so can pack the bike on my Watermaster Kodiak.

Not opposed to pedaling, but would like to do some dirt roads with elevation and at 68 I'd like to conserve all my energy for fishing.

Thanks

Jim

John Sv
03-02-2016, 04:41 PM
I have a lot of experience with bicycles (worked in shops for 20 years) and with bike shuttling. EBikes are pretty new, only seen a few. Most are in the 50 lb range but are coming down in weight. For reference, most city/road/mountain bikes at a 5-600$ price point are about 25-29 lbs.
If you take both wheels off the bike gets smaller than most folding bikes except for a Dahon). A lot of folding bikes save for the old Giant expression and the old Montagues and Schwinn Montagues have tiny wheels. This makes them a little twitchy at speed and crummy on rough dirt roads. I usually float these rivers in a canoe so space is not an issue but weird high weight is. All seems to work though.
Bikes float.... for about a minute, fyi
I shuttle sections of the Truckee, Yuba from Parks Bar to Sycamore, Upper Little Truckee in spring, Feather, with a bike. I hear the lower Sac has a paved path running along side one of the popular floats, that might be a great shuttle.
Whatcha have in mind for waters to bike shuttle?

John Sv
03-02-2016, 06:01 PM
Curious, from the pictures I can't tell, does your raft have a white floor or is there no floor and you dangle your feet in? Looks like you could lash a bike on the back?