PDA

View Full Version : Delta LMB Setup Advice

whatnext
02-02-2016, 06:35 AM
I'm new to fly fishing and have always considered myself a trout fisherman but living in close proximity to the delta I could fish for bass any afternoon after work. Can I get by with my 6wt with floating and/or sink tip line and short, heavy leader or should I be looking at an 8wt? If I had one bass rig, what would be the best setup rod/line/leader to accomplish the widest variety of largemouth bass fishing?

Darian
02-02-2016, 10:18 AM
You could get away with a 6 weight rod for about half of fishing for LMB but for windy conditions, you'd be handicapping yourself (distance/accuracy). Also, flies used for LMB tend to be large, wind resistant and may soak up a lot of water. There're places in the Delta that are sheltered from the winds but, for the most part, the Delta is a wide open area. Fishing access from the bank is limited down there and you'd do well to either own or have access to a boat.

"what would be the best setup rod/line/leader to accomplish the widest variety of largemouth bass fishing?"

I usually cast/fish an 8 weight rod, floating or sinking-head line for LMB. The reel should have a drag/capacity for some backing as well as the line. If I'm casting a floating lure (Pole Dancer or Gurgler) for Stripers, I'll move up to a 9 weight rod as those flies are large/wind resistant. If you are not yet familiar with the double haul casting technique, have someone demonstrate and learn to do it for the Delta (not all casting will be short distance).

If you can afford it, a day with a Delta guide who offers his own rods/reels for your use will shorten up the learning curve. Have fun and good luck.... :cool:

whatnext
02-02-2016, 10:46 AM
Darian, Thanks for the reply. I was thinking about the fish and forgetting about the size of the flies.

Spicytuna1
02-02-2016, 11:00 AM