PDA

View Full Version : Steelhead, Trinity

kylgrn
08-11-2014, 10:11 PM
Hey all,

I'm itching to try my hand at catching a steely this year, I primarily fish various streams in the Sierra's for trout. I want to plan some kind of multi-day trip to the Trinity or Rogue (shady cove?) this winter to do some spey casting for steelhead. I would love to either join a group already planning (or have an annual trip) to go, or just plain see if anyone might be interested. I am new to steelhead fishing and two handed rods, I had a couple lessons from Mr. Lowe himself but haven't gotten around to utilizing it much.

I'm looking for anyone to split lodging, ride share, or just good company I might be able to learn something from. I'm open to anything between October - December for a 2-3 day trip. I would prefer to to spend most the time learning to swing flies.

-Kyle

JasonB
08-12-2014, 08:55 AM
Kyle,
I could be into joining forces for a trip or two up north this fall. I pretty much only swing flies if I'm steelheading, though hardly from any sort of "purist" ethos or anything. It's just more fun for me. As far as lodging, I am usually a camping fan as it means that I can afford to take more trips :-)

As far as learning anything from me, well I'm pretty much a novice myself but I can demonstrate some serious running line tangles now and again. I do manage to hook a steelhead or two when I happen to be standing in the middle of a good run at just that right moment...
Lemme know, I'm probably looking to start hitting the Rogue and North Umpqua as soon as I get back from my Alaska trip at the end of the month.
JB

kylgrn
08-12-2014, 01:22 PM
Jason,

Sounds like a good time, likewise I will PM you when I get back from Montana at the end of the month. I actually would prefer camping as well, granted I can park my truck someplace and use the camper shell :)

Dylan40
08-25-2014, 08:19 PM
Are you still planning on this trip?

Thanks

Hey all,