PDA

View Full Version : Your Opinion on Drift Boats (because the internet doesn't have enough opinions)

Dragking
05-07-2014, 09:09 AM
I'm getting closer to pulling the trigger on a drift boat, and I am between Clack's WF and Eddy. (I might consider the RO analog to those models, but, for purposes of keeping this thread focused, let's assume I'm getting a Clack.)

As far as experience, I have never owned a drift boat, but I have a 12 ft, two man pontoon boat with a fishing frame that I have been rowing for a couple years now. I have had it out (without incident) on the American, Feather, Yuba, Lower Sac, Trinity and SF Eel Rivers. Assume that I would be based out of Redding, primarily fishing the aforementioned rivers (especially the Lower Sac and Trinity) and branching out to other rivers to the North (both in California and Southern Oregon).

I understand the fundamental difference between the two boats (namely, performance in the wind/rowing performance vs. added safety). However, I've heard different opinions about the practical differences between these boats. For example, one guide I trust (who rows an Eddy) talked about the Eddy's great performance in the wind, but cited the added safety of the higher-sided WF. Another guide I trust (who rows a WF) talked about the advantages of an Eddy in the wind and insisted that if you put yourself in a situation where water in coming over the side of an Eddy, water also would likely be coming over the edge of a WF in that situation. Obviously, I intend to ease my way in and get experience on mellow stretches first, but I'm interested to hear your thoughts.

Thanks in advance!

SeanO
05-07-2014, 09:40 AM
I've only been in aluminum drifters before, and I've never been concerned with wind. If you're floating rivers wind shouldn't be a huge factor if at all. If you are out on a lake or bay it might be something to consider though?

I have a 17' Willie in Davis you are welcome to check out if you'd like.