PDA

View Full Version : My Day at Pyramid 3/19

Troutstalker55B
03-20-2014, 11:41 AM
Just wanted to share my day at Pyramid which was my best results in the 5 times I have visited in the last 17 years. I'm not an expert at the lake by any means, but my vast knowledge and experience from another high alkaline body of water (Eagle) does give some insight on the rhythms of the lake. Productive conditions (wind), and finding active feeding fish is by far the most important aspect, rather than fly patterns and other variables.

Frank Pisciotta, Rob Anderson, and myself arrived at the lake before the sun came up, and positioned our ladders just shy of the shelf. We ran indicator rigs using Mahalo nymphs in wine, red, and mahalo midges in wine, and black with our bugs just off the bottom. I wanted to use the stripping rod but the action was so hot w/ the bobber I never changed. The Mahalo series of flies are available from Fishwest, if your coming up from the greater Sacramento area, make sure you stop by, ans stock up. The key to indicator fishing is constant mending to get a dead drift, that made the difference for myself that ended in 35 hook ups. Keeping the line short so you could mend effectively and stay in control really helps as well, most my fish were caught with only 15-20 feet of line out.

It's quite the scene at the lake, lots of these long time die hards all know each other and it's quite the social scene, which is really cool. I met so many good dudes out there from all over Nevada, and California. After the morning session waned, we had lunch and once again Rob's food was so delicious. He BBQed up some shish kabobs w/ venison, caramelized peppers and onions, wrapped in a tortilla, with creamy chipotle sauce and fresh lime juice - Killer.