PDA

View Full Version : New Outcast Fish Cat Scout vs Scadden Renegade

esummers
04-18-2013, 09:51 AM
Finally ready to throw down on a pontoon. Looking to use it on moving water and lakes. Rivers like the Madison, Beaverhead, Missouri, Lower Sac, etc. Would just be for myself - no passengers.

Was almost ready to throw down on the Scadden renegade when Outcast comes out with the new Fish Cat Scout.

Scout: $650, 7', vinyl bladders, 5 yr Warranty
Renegade: $1k, 9', bladderless, Lifetime Warranty

I sure like the reputation of Outcast and AIRE over Scadden. That being said, I have no first hand experience dealing with Dave.

Considering the Outcast is $350 less and has proven customer service, I'm thinking of going with the Scout. Wondering if the length difference is a consdieration (2 foot difference) - seems like the longer renegade would be better on lakes and even rivers.

Anyway, any opinions would be appreciated. Also, will either of these companies be at the open house on Saturday?? Thanks in advance guys......and gals maybe :).

GreggW
04-22-2013, 08:43 PM
Hi e - I have Renegade and love it. Solid built boat. Few little problems have been taken care of by Dave w/no charge. I think that Dave measures his length from back of a pontoon all the way around the outside to the bow. So real length is less than 9 ft. Don't know the Scout.
Gregg

esummers
04-22-2013, 09:31 PM
Thanks Gregg. Can you tell me the few little problems you had with your boat? Also, would you recommend buying the boat through Cabellas or directly through Dave...same price. Also, did you upgrade your oars....Thanks

GreggW
04-23-2013, 09:19 PM