PDA

View Full Version : Flying on united

BHirayama
04-10-2013, 10:21 AM
Every summer I take a trip to somewhere in the Rockies. This year we are headed to Montana. I normally fly on Delta, but it looks like United has the best fare this time around. On Delta, I am able to take 3 rods in a Fishpond rod case along with a carry on bag for no additional fee. Does anyone have any experience flying on United? Will I still be able to take my rod case and carry on bag without having to pay extra? Thanks!!

Brian H

Darian
04-10-2013, 10:35 AM
I have no experience with United but If you haven't already checked the United Airlines website, I'd recommend looking up their requirements on-line. They should provide a list of what's allowable or not and the charges, if any. :cool:

BHirayama
04-10-2013, 11:06 AM
Hi Darian. I did check the website and I honestly couldn't figure out if they would charge me for an extra carry on for my rod case. Thanks!

KJE
04-10-2013, 11:16 AM
Having recently moved to DC from Sac while continuing to fish in CA, I've flown several times with a an 11', switch rod four piece rod tube in hand with no problems. It's my "personal item", essentially what they classify as a purse or laptop bag. Don't know how big your Fishpond case is, but I think you'll be ok.

BHirayama
04-10-2013, 12:02 PM
Thanks KJE. My Fishpond case is 33 inches long with a 3.5 inch diameter. It sounds like I will be okay taking it on board.

jbird
04-10-2013, 12:14 PM
I have been flying united almost exclusively for 25+ years. I would guess Ive flown with them nearly 100 times. I have never had problems with carrying on a rod tube, reels, flies, etc... But let me tell you what happened to me last night, and this is getting more and more common and with most airlines...