PDA

View Full Version : Scientific consequences / benefits of hatchery vs native breeding

DLJeff
03-10-2013, 10:28 AM
I asked a question on another thread about a steelhead report. Jason rightfully reminded me I had hijacked the thread and I apologize for that. Alosa posted a great summary of some research by fishery biologists that helps explain the potential consequences and benefits of introducing hatchery bred fish into a native population. Thanks for that, I much appreciate it and learned a little. Here's his responses to my query:

I'll chime in on this (if that's ok Loren). First, my background is fisheries conservation genetics, so what I am about to say isn't my opinion, but what has been demonstrated repeatedly by multiple independent studies of various anadromous fish species (primarily salmonids). Just to show that I'm serious about that, I've listed some of those key studies below, but I'll provide the cliff notes here:

1) The negative effects of stocking practices on the genetic integrity and fitness of wild fish populations have been well documented;

2) There are two general categories of stocking:
i) supportive breeding - reproduction of a segment of the wild population is conducted in captivity followed by the release of the captive progeny to supplement that same wild populations. Here, no genes from other populations are introduced into the system (but there are OTHER negative effects);
ii) stock transfers - the relocation of individuals between wild populations that can introduce genes that would otherwise not normally be observed in that population;