PDA

View Full Version : Deer Creek switch rod user feedback

stonefly58
11-04-2012, 07:11 AM
I am looking to add to the arsenal of rods and purchase the Deer Creek series 11' 7 wt switch rod. My question is this; To anyone that has purchased the Deer Creek series rod how do you like the performance and feel of the rod, not compared to other rods but as a stand alone rod, and which line are you using. Finally, if limited to one rod, would this be it?

Bill Kiene semi-retired
11-04-2012, 09:09 AM
The TFO Deer Creek Swtich rods are all very nice, designed by Bob Meiser and Mike Kinney.

We have line recomendations posted on our online store for every two handed fly rod we sell.

http://flyshop.kiene.com/tfodeercreekswitch11074pc.aspx

JasonB
11-04-2012, 09:38 AM
Well you can take this with a couple grains of salt: first off, I'm still very new to switch/spey rods and casting. I very recently bought a deer creek 11' 6wt that I've been playing with (had it out maybe 5 days of fishing + a couple of 1 hour practice casting sessions). I've got it lined up with an 8wt floater (Rio atlantic salmon/steelhead taper), so probably not the best combination, nor am I the best at eeking out every ounce of performance of the rod yet ... and still I have to say that I have been more than impressed at how much water this rod has opened up to me, and how nicely it can cast. Both my distances, and more importantly, my accuracy have improved hugely over what they had been previously. As for a one single rod, I'd say this one is pretty incredibly versatile for what I want and where I'll likely get to fish, but that's pretty subjective and I don't think that there really is any such thing as the one rod that does everything. The only negative that I have while fishing this rod is that I have found that I have a very hard time highsticking with it, although that is comparing it to my shorter single handed rods so I'm not sure if that's really even relevant to you or not. Other than that I'v