PDA

View Full Version : need a little help

JasonB
10-19-2012, 12:28 PM
Just got back from a week on the Trinity for my now 3rd attempt at salmon/steelhead fishing. Fishing was fantastic... catching was extremely slow (others that I chatted with said mostly the same). Had a blast, learned a ton, saw lots of fish moving upriver (and swerving around my flies). Mostly, each little bit of improvement that I make just manages to show me how much more I've got to learn on this. I'm totally hooked (sts) on trying to fish for steelhead now, but in need of lots of help. I would be REALLY appreciative of any and all advice that the knowledgeable folks of this board could impart to me, particularly controlling the drift speed and depth of the swing.

I am self taught, and am sure that I'm probably doing quite a few things wrong but I feel that I'm starting to get a rough feel for what I want the fly to do at least. I'd love to take some lessons at some point, but right now that's a very tough proposition as I really can't afford to do even half the fishing that I'd like to do, and then there's the constant temptation to get a switch rod too... so most likely I'll opt to spend more cash on gas and supplies to maximize the number of days I can get out and practice. If only my bank account had the same level of enthusiasm I have for fly fishing...