PDA

View Full Version : Bardees Bar history?

wineslob
09-25-2012, 12:46 PM
I've been fishing the North Fork of the Feather for nearly 25 years, and went up to the Bar this past weekend. I probably haven't fished a particular section above Bardees for nearly 20 years. As Bill was saying, "fall is a great time to go fishing". The flow was perfect, and the "Bows" were all too happy to smack the crap out of a black stone fly. I actually had three fish break off 5X tippet! I landed a few fish in the 10" range and two that were 16". They all sported fall colors. Beautiful fish.

It was a great day, to say the least.

Now on to the question. The area down at the bar has several concrete pads, and, of course, there's the bridge that crosses the river. The bridge has been damaged by fire and has been closed off for years. On the other side of the river is the SP RR that runs through the Feather River Canyon. The bridge leads to an old road, RR tunnel, graveled wide spots along the RR and a "bunker" that goes into the side of the mountain. I've tried to Google the history of the area, but no luck. Just stuff about Pulga and the hippies living there.

I'm curious about the area and what was going on there. Anyone have some insight? My best guess is it was a construction area back when the RR was being built.

Pic of the bridge in question. The "road" leads off to the right and up to the RR. On the left is the area with the concrete pads. which is where I parked.

http://bridgehunter.com/photos/15/72/157233-L.jpg

ycflyfisher
09-25-2012, 03:54 PM