PDA

View Full Version : A couple flies

Jay Murakoshi
03-18-2012, 12:54 PM
that have been tied with wig hair. I've been using these patterns for a couple years down in the baja and have done exceptionally well, especially using a OBS F/I.
The fly is tied with wig hair and the underneath is a pom pom which gives the fly a girthy look.
And I have my first attempt at a wig hair hollow head fly. Looks like I need to add one more pom pom underneath to maintain the cylindercol look to the fly. The heads have been finished with CCG Flex.
The bait fish patterns are a Bob Popovic's design but I'm using wig hair instead of Farrer's blend

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/jaysflies/IMG_1783.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/jaysflies/IMG_1778.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/jaysflies/IMG_1785.jpg

The photo's are the best resolution, just a quick set up and shoot

Jay

Darian
03-18-2012, 02:18 PM
Saw these flies in Yuba City last Tuesday evening. They're really light weight but appear to be very durable. Look a lot like a Charlie's Airhead but aren't. I imagine they will sink quickly once the pom pom soaks up some water. If you're using a two handed retrieve, they should stay up in the surface area. I really like the tan/white version. All in all, a very good looking salty pattern.... :D

Greg F
03-22-2012, 08:09 PM
What is a pompom?

Jay Murakoshi
03-22-2012, 08:54 PM
A pom pom. It's a round little ball made from material. Or better to describe it, so people hang these from there headliner in their car

jay

Fats
03-22-2012, 09:11 PM
Those are good looking flies Jay!

Jay Murakoshi
03-22-2012, 10:34 PM
I took them out yesterday for a swim and they have some great looking movement in the water. I have a newly revised wig hair air head which swims with movement
Like i mentioned, I'll be doing these fly's at the fair next month

Jay

FISHEYE
03-23-2012, 09:57 AM