PDA

View Full Version : fishing in Belize

rouleur35
02-08-2012, 09:44 PM
Hi,

I am heading to Belize at the end of March and am looking for some advice for fishing. I have no experience except for a half day bonefishing once. I also have no agenda, so any and all advice will be appreciated. I have an 8 wt rod and was thinking I would probably need a 10 wt also.

Thanks,
tom

FISHEYE
02-09-2012, 10:34 AM
Tom, do a google search using my name to look at my belize reports. Try something like dan blanton phil brna belize or placencia. You could do the same for Kiene's but I don't know if that will work with google. Read those and then start asking questions. Lots of guys here and on Blanton have been fishing in Belize. If you have an 8 wt and 1/2 day experience you have a ways to go but you can get there. Where are you going and what do you want to fish for?

rouleur35
02-10-2012, 02:50 PM
i will search those things, i was looking for basic information, what i should bring, some guide options, is do it yourself possible? i have no agenda, i have no set places to be, figured i would just kinda wing it when i get there. would like to fish for the usual suspects, permit, bones, tarpon

thanks

Scott V
02-10-2012, 03:29 PM
Make the same post on blanton.com. You will get a a lot more info because on that site there are a lot of posters from areas far out side of California.

Mort
02-21-2012, 07:45 PM
sent you a PM

john
02-21-2012, 08:29 PM
Where are you going in Belice? Phil can help you out in the south. I can help you out in the north. High 5 Phil.

rouleur35
02-22-2012, 11:44 AM
hi, thanks for all the replies so far, i've been checking out the suggestions.

i don't have a set destination, figured i would just kick around a little bit here and there, so far i am thinking of hanging out a few days in caye caulker and then some in placencia or dangriga or some other place, probably some days inland as well

thanks,
tom

FISHEYE
02-22-2012, 12:41 PM