PDA

View Full Version : smith river casting lessons

thepeacockspecial
01-11-2012, 08:51 PM
I am happy to say I will be visiting the Smith River next weekend. Unfortunately, I will only have a 3 hour window to fish in the early AM while my gf is still sleeping. Yes, I'm sneaking out. It's my first time there, and I have to wet my line. I've emailed a few people already regarding wading access, but all of them seem to tell me to go above the forks.. since the place around the jed state park will be filled with boats. I've tried looking online for information regarding the area above the forks, but I can't find the right information. For those of you who have gone above the forks for your "Casting Lessons".. how is the river like on the 199? I was looking at a map and it looks like the river is right next to the road. I'm just trying to figure out where I should be, so that I can find a place close by for me and my gf to stay for her birthday. Thanks.

Darian
01-11-2012, 09:46 PM
Let me see if I understand this correctly.... You're taking your gf to the Smith River so you can get in 3 hours of fishing :?: And, she's not fishing :?: :?: You're doomed my friend. As I recall, there's not a heck of a lot of really nice places to stay for a special occasion in or around Crescent City.... :|

All kinds of nice places south of there, tho. :D

thepeacockspecial
01-11-2012, 10:06 PM
haha. well.. we are actually headed there to check out the dunes, lighthouses, lagoons, redwoods, and we both love the misty fog the north coast has to offer, along with the rocky coast line. She's allowing me a few hours in the early AM to go get some casts in

Ben J
01-11-2012, 10:17 PM
Try the Sandy Beach access area on the South Fork for a quick fix.

Bruce Slightom
01-12-2012, 08:33 AM
http://www.patrickcreeklodge.net/