PDA

View Full Version : Striped bass...

Marty Gingras
11-21-2011, 07:51 AM
Hi all,

Thanks for the invitation to post here.

The service I can provide you is information about the 'who, what, where, when, and how' about striped bass (etc), not the 'why' about policy or legal matters.

I've been posting on fishing forums since 2005 and have learned that it is usually not helpful for me to post my opinion, so I don't.

I've also learned that --- whether due to the communication format or intent of the poster --- a lot of seemingly rhetorical questions get asked. Rhetorical questions are great of course, but it's gets messy when I try to deal with those. Thus, I'm going to avoid answering rhetorical questions and I may ask if a question is rhetorical.

Let me start with a 'what' sort of answer to a common 'why' question: If we had lost the litigation brought by the Coalition for a Sustainable Delta, we would likely be in a situation where a federal judge would either order us to stop enforcing certain State fishing regulations or we would have had to treat enforcement of State regulations as a 'project' under the federal ESA.

Take care

Marty Gingras
BDR-IEP Program Manager
California Department of Fish and Game
Bay Delta Region
4001 North Wilson Way
Stockton, California 95205

Phone (209) 948-3702
Phone (831) 372-2581
FAX (209) 946-6355
email mgingras@dfg.ca.gov

Bill Kiene semi-retired
11-21-2011, 08:26 AM
Welcome to our forum Marty.

It will be nice to hear some of your feed back.

Tony Buzolich
11-21-2011, 09:27 AM
Marty,
Glad to see you on board as well and hopefully we'll stay away from politics and religion:).

Here's your first question that seems to come up regularly. Is there an easy way to accurately identify the sex of a striped bass without gutting it?