PDA

View Full Version : Fly confusion!

avidrise
08-19-2011, 06:29 PM
Hello out there, this is my first post and will probably sound quite dumb but I would rather ask than not. I just started to fly fish and am blessed to have a wonderful friend thats helping me along. We have gone twice now, long story short I am a little confused on how to pick what fly. Nymph and what nymph, Dry fly and what Dry fly, Atractor and what Atractor. Is an atractor imitating a fly or soley just a pattern that presents a color pattern that will entice a fish to bite. Any advice on the Fly part of fishing would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

frequent_flyer
08-19-2011, 10:21 PM
As a 3 year beginner, I know it can be difficult to choose the right fly. A simulator can be both a imitation and a attractor pattern. Depending on the size you could use it as a stonefly or caddis imitation. As far as having a go to nymph, a size 14 pheasant tail, copper john, or hairs ear are good.

avidrise
08-20-2011, 10:34 PM
Thank you for taking the time to give me an answer. Thanks!

oldtrout
08-21-2011, 09:14 PM
(1) Seine (take a bug sampling from the water you are fishing)

(2) Identify (from the sample, identify the most abundant and most active bugs)

(3) Match sample (self-explanatory)

Darian
08-21-2011, 10:11 PM
This is a subject not easily addressed on a Bulletin Board. What you're going to get is what you've received so far. Fly selection may be based on what the other two responders have posted. However, fly selection is the subject of many magazine articles, books and conversations. All good. In order to shorten the learning curve, you should spend a day with a guide. If that's not doable, join a local fly fishing club. The membership of these clubs are uniformly helpful and friendly. Finally, If you have a fly fishing friend, you may be able to tap that persons knowledge/experience....

Have fun. The journey is rewarding.... :D

Bill Kiene semi-retired
08-22-2011, 08:31 AM