PDA

View Full Version : question about line wt vs rod wt

JasonB
08-18-2011, 05:40 PM
So I picked up a 4wt rod not so long ago (thank you Kiene's), but I've been having some issues with casting it. Now I'm the first to admit that my self taught, highly specialized casting "style" is not exactly the best; I'll just get that out of the way right now since I'm sure that's the first thing most folks would wonder about. That said, I seem to be having more issues with this rod than any other that I've played around with.

I do have it paired with a reel spooled with weight forward 5wt line, which I know will change the dynamics of how it performs. My question is how exactly will this change things:
I know some folks like to upsize their line wt, but honestly I'm not really sure what the pros and cons of this are.
What would be the effects of casting a 4wt rod with 5wt line; the good, the bad and the ugly?
Thanks,
JB

Big Al
08-18-2011, 06:21 PM
It will slow that fast rod down I over line my rods when fishing small streams the heavier line will load quicker since most of the time your fishing off your rod tip and use a very short length of line I use DT on small streams for that purpose.

Darian
08-18-2011, 09:38 PM
Seems to me that your problem could be solved by taking the entire rig back to kiene's and hae them cast it. If there's truly a mis-match, I'm sure Kiene's would address it. On the other hand, if it's your casting technique kiene's can help you there, as well. 8)

Bill Kiene semi-retired
08-18-2011, 11:48 PM
We have fly reels spooled up with test lines in many sizes so anyone can bring their rod (s) in and we can cast them with various size of weight forward floating fly Ines. We have some smaller double tapers as well.

It is very educational to cast 3 or 4 different line sizes on your rod.

All rods are slightly different and we all have different casting styles/speeds.

One under, the one it calls for, then one size over, then two sizes over.