PDA

View Full Version : Delta largemouth - fly suggestions

civicrr
07-28-2011, 08:59 PM
While an avid bass fisherman with conventional gear, I'm still very new to the whole flyfishing game. I just started last Fall & really only concentrated on chasing stripers. I'd really appreciate advice on flies for both topwater & later in the day when the topwater bite seems to die. When the topwater bite dies, do you go to the I-line? Will any of my striper flies work? I know that the Pole Dancer will get bit. Clouser? Airhead?

I was out the other day on the Delta. Cool night the day before with fog coming off the water when we launched. Put on a popper and got into a few topwater fish. The topwater bite died & I was basically @ a lost as what else to try. I should have brought the I-line but I didn't. I did manage one more fish on a small clouser using the floating line.

Thanks

Bill Kiene semi-retired
07-28-2011, 09:27 PM
Most all of us at Kiene's Fly Shop are followers of top guide Captain Kevin Doran for top water LMB fly fishing in the Delta.

Kevin likes April though September for top water LMB. I think May was his favorite month on normal years.

I think early and late in the day would be best now in the mid-summer.

I guess some tide movement would be good too.

We use a Sage LMB outfit or a 9' #7 line rod with a Rio Outbound Short WF8F.

Kevin uses a short two piece 6 feet mono leader with maybe a foot or so of 25# Maxima Ultra Green for the butt section and ~5 feet of 20# Maxima Ultra Green to the fly with a none slip loop knot.

We use the flies KD recommends which are:

The Umpqua #1/0 'Swimming Baitfish' in the Shad pattern with mono weed guides.

The Umpqua #2 'Swimming Frog' in all colors with the mono weed guard.

The Umpqua 'Pike Fly' in Chartreuse Frog #3/0 pattern with a mono weed guard.

**We were elated the first time we fished the Delta with Kevin after finding out he only fishes top water for LMB.

Mrs.Finsallaround
07-29-2011, 08:58 AM