PDA

View Full Version : Switch Rod Sink Tips Question

Bruce Berman
02-13-2011, 06:04 PM
I just started using my 7 wt. 11 foot Sage Z-Axis, both as a spey (I'm not very good at it but I'm trying) and as a 2-handed overhead casting rod. I'm using a Rio Skagit Shorts 425 grain line. Assuming I'm hitting water that is flowing 4 mph (as fast as an average man walks and prime steelhead flows), what length and sink rate tip would you start out with? I have a buddy who uses 10 feet of T-14 religiously, but I think there must be a better way to figure things out that's not too complicated. I have lengths of T-14, LC-13 and various 10 foot poly leaders.
For aguments sake, lets say I'm not throwing a weighted fly.

Bill Kiene semi-retired
02-13-2011, 08:49 PM
That line should throw most anything you put on the end of it.

I use the Rio Skagit Short (20') 375 grain on my 12'6" #5 Spey rod and it works well with 10' of T-11 and a medium size cone head string leech.

Your leader only needs to be about 4 feet of total mono with those fast tips.

I would buy a set of Medium size (T-11) MOW tips or buy a few MOW tips for that short (20') Skagit head.

Get a '5/5' MOW Medium tip (5' floating & 5 ' T-11) which has loops on both ends.

You can get a 10' floating MOW tip too.

The new Rio MOW tips are for using on Skagits heads.

Be sure to get out with someone who can give you some direction.

shawn kempkes
02-13-2011, 09:21 PM
Bruce

I have that rod . I also use a 525 grain skagit flight head on it. while the 425 loads that rod and cast well with light tips it doesnt turn over t-14 worth a dam. If you are going to stick with that head put 10ft of t-8 or t-11 and it should fly. The poly leaders are useless in the heavier flows in the winter.

jayclarkflyfishing
02-14-2011, 06:49 AM
Bruce-