PDA

View Full Version : Line help

fx21basser
11-15-2010, 07:38 PM
Hello all
I need to replace heavy sinking tip line. I am a beginner fly fisherman, I have been using the SA striper line 400 gr. But it now has split was wondering if I should go to the rio t14 or dc 26 . I am throwing this on a 9 wt.
Thx In Advance
Hass

Scott V
11-15-2010, 09:50 PM
Get 30' of t14 and cast it, if it feels heavy or hard to throw just trim a little off. Bill has 30' lengths with braided loops on it in the package, best way to go in my opinion.

civicrr
11-15-2010, 10:18 PM
Being new myself, I asked a similar question not too long ago. Most everyone said to get some version of Rio fast sinking line.

Rio Outbound Short S6 (30' head, 375gr)

Rio Outbound Custom Cut T-14 (cut head to desired weight)

T-14 head with a intermediate running line

Seemed line the DC26 was "what people used to use"

Darian
11-15-2010, 10:25 PM
Being a beginner, you have several things to consider here. First, you're replacing a full line. Your note indicates you either want to replace it with another full line or a shooting head. A full line replacement will cost you more than a shooting head of any type. However, the next choice, after buying a shooting head is to buy a running/shooting line which raises the cost. :-|

If a shooting head system isn't what you want, there're some very good integrated shooting head lines out there. For example, a Rio Outbound or Outbound Short and others. If you choose, you can get a sinking head with a floating or intermediate running line. The running line section of an Outbound line is a very thin diameter for better casting. :nod:

There's for too much to discuss on this subject here. I'd suggest taking your reel/rod to your local fly shop, asking questions and making your decision there. 8-)

Tony Buzolich
11-15-2010, 11:47 PM