PDA

View Full Version : stripers - stay & coax 'em or run & gun???

civicrr
10-30-2010, 12:59 PM
A little advice (again ;-) ) please! In case you haven't read my other posts, I'm new to flyfishing period not to mention new to flyfishing for stripers. I come with a few years of experience fishing for largemouth bass.

When chasing largies, you either run & gun (fish, move, fish, move) chasing the active fish with reaction lures or you slow down using finesse techniques trying to entice them into biting.

Now to the questions part of the post. When moving into a likely looking spot, do I make a 1/2 dozen cast & move on if no action? Does that change if I mark fish? Say I do mark fish but they aren't active. Should I try to 'activate' them? Will your approach change as the season progresses & water temps drop?

Any & all advice is appreciated. Thanks

Darian
10-30-2010, 08:07 PM
From my perspective, what you describe for Black Bass fishing (run & Gun) is applicable to Stripers, as well. That tactic will serve until water temps cool down to winter lows. Then the bite will become soft or more difficult to detect. Slowing the retrieve will get some takes then.

It's been my experience that marking fish on the finder doesn't necessarily result in takers. Make some casts. If nothing happens in 15 minutes, move on. You might waste a bunch of time fishing over good looking water without getting a take.

Just apply what you already know about Black Bass fishing. Hopefully other with more experience will offer more advice. :D

civicrr
10-30-2010, 08:11 PM
Darian,
I appreciate the reply/info.

Mike

WinterrunRon
10-30-2010, 11:12 PM
Mike, I'm not sure I qualify as more experienced, but I've spent enough hours/miles/casts on the delta chasing stripers to feel confident in offering some advice.

First, let me say, I agree with everything the Darian has stated. However, here's my take on it...