PDA

View Full Version : Nor-Vise

NCL
08-06-2010, 05:16 AM
I have been watching some tying videos and the tier is using the Nor-Vise and it looks really easy and fast to use. I presently use a Dyna King Barracuda which I really like but I was thinking about getting a Nor-Vise. Any use the Nor-Vise? What are your likes or dislikes?

Jay Murakoshi
08-06-2010, 06:58 AM
I've been using the Nor-vise for 5 years now. I have ventured through most if not all vises on the market. If your are tying nymphs and streamers, this vise does it well. After watching Norm at all the shows, I attempted to do a wooly bugger in under 30 seconds. So some guy timed me at one of the shows and I tied the fly in 22 seconds. Dubbed bodies can be tied with no wax needed.
It does take some time to get use to the vise but once you accomplish the task, I think you'll like the vise. The bobbins are what I really like. Being that they have a clutch, no more thread spools dropping to the floor. I still have a barracuda, professional, salt water dyna king vise but my two "go to " vises are the Renzetti Master and the Nor-vise

Jay

Kneedeep
08-06-2010, 07:07 AM
Been tying for years and have tied on most of the well known and some of the not so well known makes. All of them work; some just work better than others for certain things.

My favorite of them all is the Nor-vise. Easy to use and superb customer service. Norm is a capital fellow.

If you have an interest in tying on one, I suggest you get one and give it a try. If it doesn't meet with your approval, you will have no difficulties in selling it.

What I like best about them; I have three of them.
What I dislike about them; I don't have four of them. (yet) :D

NCL
08-06-2010, 07:16 AM
I would like to thank both of you for the input. This is the info I was looking for. I have to admit Kneedeep I laughed out loud when I read your dislikes.

bcarson4374
08-06-2010, 09:20 PM
here is another vote for the Nor Vise-

Top notch guy/customer service.