PDA

View Full Version : Eagle Lake

walthers
08-01-2010, 01:57 PM
I was searching the board trying to see if anyone has fished Eagle Lake recently because I will be up there with my dad and nephew next week. They are bait fisherman that will be fishing from a boat. I am a flyfisherman that will be using a float tube outside of Spaulding where we will be staying. Although I have a lot of lake fishing experience from a tube I have never attmepted to fish Eagle Lake from a tube. This is where my questions come in.

I will be using a six weight rod and will have both floating and intermidiate sinking lines. I am not sure how productive dries will be (not sure about any hatch that comes off on a regualr basis) and love to strip streamers. If anyone has been up there and has a feel for what would be the best way to attack the shallower water in the Spaulding area I am open and more than happy to listen to any tips or advice. Although it probably goes without saying I fish catch and release so I will be releasing all landed fish.

Thanks in advance for any input from all the anglers on this board.

Mike

thepeacockspecial
08-01-2010, 02:08 PM
go with leeches @ eagle lake. You can also strip midges, btu i prefer leech patterns.

Troutstalker55B
08-01-2010, 02:34 PM
Mike,

This is the worse time to fish Eagle but there will be a few trout to be had. I have hundrds of days fishing up there and here are my thoughts for your upcoming trip. You must be on the water at first light no matter what your location is. Flies: Scuds in brown and olive #12 or #14, wiggle tails in brown and olive, and chui chub minnows (#6 3xl, white body, olive top). 10-12foot leaders to 4x, go to 2X when stripping the minnow. Fish the airport tulles area from your tube. I would get a boat ride to shrimp island as there are cold springs there from the Brockman Lava field's ice shelf. Eagle Lake is my favorite stillwater! Enjoy yourself and best of luck.

Jon.

1flyfisher
08-01-2010, 08:17 PM