PDA

View Full Version : Dedicated sinking line rod: Is switching from floating to sinking lines a problem?

Dean Y.
06-10-2010, 01:37 PM
Last month at the Granite Bay Flycaster's meeting, Hal Janssen urged anglers to have a dedicated sinking line rod. He suggested using a specific rod(s) that will NEVER be used for floating lines due to the various coatings/dressings/??? that cover a sinking line. I believe he stated that the sinking line will leave a residue on the guides and ruin a floating line.

Is this the accepted conventional wisdom? I gathered from the way he stated it, that lots of people don't follow this advice. Should I be concerned about swapping floating and sinking lines on the same rod? thanks.

Jay
06-10-2010, 01:45 PM
Wow. News to me. I am not an expert though. Curious.

Reno Flytyer
06-10-2010, 01:45 PM
Maybe if you fished everyday, or multiple times a week. I fish maybe 40-50 days a year & typically use two rods & switch spools often using floating, types I II & III sinking, & a sink tip...the floating line I've had for at least 3 years & it works as well today as it did new. It seems to me like some folk forget the K.I.S.S. principal & over think some things. Don't know how much it matters, but I fish stillwater 98% of the time. I guess I'm one of those who don't subscribe to his theory. My $ .02 & you get what you pay for.
RFT

Scott V
06-10-2010, 03:35 PM
If you got the money go for it. I fish alot, at least 2 - 3 times a week and have never had a problem.

Dean Y.
06-10-2010, 04:14 PM
Sounds like most people haven't been concerned.

I definitely do not have $ falling out of my derriere :(. But, I was/am somewhat concerned about shortening the life of my lines (they ain't cheap either). I suppose you can makeup the cost of a budget fly rod (what I use) if you go through a lot of floating lines.

B Kane
06-10-2010, 05:27 PM