PDA

View Full Version : Best $ value shopping for fly fishing products?

Bill Kiene semi-retired
06-04-2010, 03:23 PM
If you were going to buy a new high end fly rod with a high end fly reel and top fly line, basically a complete high end fly fishing outfit, and you live in California where would you buy it?

Just trying to get some good honest feedback so we can stay up to date with what is happening in our market place.

Thanks

Jay
06-04-2010, 03:33 PM
To be honest, the internet. I live about 30 minutes from any fly shop and close to an hour away from your place. It is just not worth it to me to make that drive @ 12mpg + my time. I also consider myself a savvy internet shopper and sometimes spend weeks or even months waiting for the perfect deal. I am a carpenter, money is really tight so when I get some that I can put towards gear, I really gotta make it stretch. I realize that might not help you at all, but that is how I shop.

Mike R
06-04-2010, 04:56 PM
Hopefully I'd have reputable fly shop that I have done business with before and want to do business with them again. For an expensive purchase like that, assuming I am paying full price, I'd much rather get it with a face to face transaction. But, for buying used/closeout merchandise, I'm looking on the web.

Mike

Dave E.
06-04-2010, 05:30 PM
Hi Bill,

Given the limitations of your question, honestly I'd most likely make the drive and buy it from you guys.

Open the question up to top shelf items that, let us say - fluctuate in price from source to source, then it's anybodies guess ( reads: internet ) .
For consumables, lines, tying materials, togs and the like, you'll commonly get first shot at our purchases.