PDA

View Full Version : Redington Predator

cmgfly
05-05-2010, 09:40 AM
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to the bass game and was wondering if there are any opinions on the Redington Predator series. I'm thinking about picking up a 6 and an 8 to use in some of the rivers, lakes and ponds near me. I like Redington rods but haven't been able to get my hands on these yet.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

thanks,
Chris

Mrs.Finsallaround
05-05-2010, 10:05 AM
Got one at Kiene's expo LAST year. LOVE it! Going to use it in the Bass N Fly in a few weeks. I use the 8 wt, as we primarily fish for LMB in the delta.

I've used the Sage Largemouth too, and IMHO, the predator works just as well for me.

There's a 3rd company out there that makes a green one too, but I can't remember the name of it off hand. It wasn't bad either...

cmgfly
05-05-2010, 10:52 AM
Thank you Robin,

I've also been very impressed with Redington rods. I use as 10' 8 wt CPS and a 7 wt CPX switch rod. I've only used Redington rods for steelhead so far. For the price, Redington does a very good job, which is why I'm interested in this series for bass.

BTW, what line are you using with the 8 wt for topwater? Does it work well with sinking lines too?

Any line suggestions for the 6 or the 8 would be appreciated.

thanks again

Charlie Gonzales
05-05-2010, 04:00 PM
For top water bass you wont beat the Rio Out Bound Short, its already over lined by two, so for the average rod/fly just go with whats on the box. If your throwing real big stuff or a fast rod then maybe go up by one.

Robin the rod your thinking of is the Ross Worldwide Fly Stick and is available up to a 10wt, great rods for the money.

Mrs.Finsallaround
05-05-2010, 07:12 PM
For top water bass you wont beat the Rio Out Bound Short, its already over lined by two, so for the average rod/fly just go with whats on the box. If your throwing real big stuff or a fast rod then maybe go up by one.