PDA

View Full Version : Top ten flies in your fly box...

cdm
02-06-2010, 08:21 PM
I'm a beginner and want to get back into fly fishing this year. I'll be going for a 9' , 5wt, 4 pc.

What do you guys have as the go to flies in your fly box?

thanks

Hairstacker
02-06-2010, 09:41 PM
cdm, welcome aboard!!

For me, it depends on what I'm chasing -- did you have a specific fish species in mind?

Dave Neal
02-06-2010, 10:47 PM
Ahhh, the innocuous question with unlimited variables...

My go-to trout flies are pretty specific to our local area. They'll hook trout anywhere, for sure, but if I had to hook trout anywhere? I would stick to the old classics and basics.

Let's go with 5 nymphs, and 5 dry flies:

Nymphs/wet flies:
Pheasant Tail
Prince Nymph
LaFontaine's Caddis Emerger
Zebra Midge
Black Wooly Bugger

Dry flies:
Stimulator
EC Caddis
Parachute Adams
Regular ol' Adams
Parachute Hopper

So there's my 10 flies. Of course, I would absolutely want them all - in 4 different sizes, and in several different colors, a few with bead heads, a few without bead heads, some with flash, some without. . .

cdm
02-06-2010, 10:58 PM
thanks Dave and Mike,

I want to concentrate on the local streams and lakes around Sacramento, probably try to stay on the 50 and 80 corridor.

Years ago, my buddy and I would venture to the Eastern sierra. I finally just bought my license after a 3 year hiatus. Can't believe I deprived myself of this pasttime and hooby.

Keep the lists coming!

Dave Neal
02-06-2010, 11:07 PM
CDM, stop by Kiene's and have them show you some ideas for those particular waters. If they still have a fly tying class, consider taking it at some point. At first you won't save any money tying them yourself, hahahaha, but the freedom of tying whatever you need is worth it.

You are in for some fun and good times.

TaylerW
02-07-2010, 02:02 AM
my top 10
1. foam black and size 14
2. any size stimulator
3. pheasant tail
4. copper jon
5. micro may
6. birds nest
7. hairs ear