PDA

View Full Version : On my dime

jburge
12-19-2009, 10:39 AM
OK, so I've been on this small fly binge for a while, and got a little carried away with some Miracle Midge's...

http://takeahike.us.com/flies/miracle_midge.jpg

This is my first attempt at #20 midges. I thought the pattern was cool because it's white floss over black thread, and when it gets wet it turns to a mottled grey (thus "the miracle"). I'm thinking I need to uncross my eyes and move over to something in a #6 steelhead pattern ;-)

John

David Lee
12-19-2009, 10:48 AM
Nice !!

I'm to the point now where I have the s%$ts tryin' to tye on a #10 fly on 3X . I don't think I could tye a #16 bug with a gun to my head ....

Getting old sucks .

D.~

Hairstacker
12-19-2009, 11:00 AM
John, I wish I had your level of natural talent. Really. Those flies look great! =D>

David, is it an eyesight thing that's not correctible with glasses? :sad:

jbird
12-19-2009, 02:05 PM
Wow thats a huge dime!!! Wait, those are small flies ;)

Really nice!

Dean Y.
12-19-2009, 05:01 PM
The miracle is in how small those flies are!

Do you use some form of magnification?

If I may ask, where are you planning on fishing them?

jburge
12-20-2009, 08:47 AM
Hey, thanks guys. Coming from you, that means a lot.

David, trust me I'm old enough to strain at some of these smaller sizes too. BTW, I'm borrowing your line from the "reel sound" poll as a signature. I laugh every time I read it.

Mike, thanks again for the encouragement. What you don't see there are the half-dozen attempts that didn't quite turn out right ;-)