PDA

View Full Version : Beads for Steelhead

big bug
12-16-2009, 09:05 PM
This is my first year out of ten that I finally gave in and started using beads for trout. I have to say they work better than glowbugs, other bugs and soft hackles behind salmon. I was on the Yuba last week, not a salmon in sight and the fish are still hitting the right color bead. I have yet to gill hook a fish, and have had a few fish on the outside of the mouth. Many guides use them now. I realize I am cheating, but it seems you can catch more fish. The latest Fly Fisherman Mag says the bead is common in Alaska. I also have found that you will not catch fish if you are not using the right color bead. There is some science to the whole thing. Are you guys using beads for steelhead on the Feather and American?

Fats
12-16-2009, 09:13 PM
Nope... still a glow bug guy.

Bob Laskodi
12-16-2009, 09:19 PM
SHHHHH!!!!!!!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/laskodi/Picture581a.jpg

BigOkieWhiteBoy916
12-16-2009, 09:22 PM
SHHHHH!!!!!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v11/laskodi/Picture581a.jpg

That poor steelhead never knew what happened. It was screaming so loud Bob had to Shush him. lol

big bug
12-16-2009, 09:46 PM
Nice chromer there!! Looks like a caramel 10 or 12mm. Corner of the mouth.;) Is that from Alaska?

matt johnson
12-17-2009, 01:01 AM
If I am fishing to steelhead that are actively feeding behind spawning salmon, as happens here in the Central Valley, then yep, I use beads. Beads are deadly in this situation.

However, If I am fishing on the coast or wherever and the steelhead are not feeding behind salmon but are just migrating, I never use beads, only glo-bugs. I like the buoyancy of glo-bugs better than the sink of beads in this application, and glo-bugs are nice and chewy. In my experience, when I get a bite, the steelheads will really hang on to the glo bug and you hook em'.

I don't think beads are cheating. Just a great idea!