PDA

View Full Version : Novice needs advice

Angus T
10-26-2009, 12:39 PM
I am new to fly fishing. I recently purchased a TFO Lefty Kreh Professional rod, 5wt 9ft. 4pc. and a Ross CLA2 reel. I would like some ideas on what fly line, backing, leader, etc. would be best. Any advice would be appreciated, Thanks.

Rich Leonetti
10-26-2009, 01:00 PM
I am new to fly fishing. I recently purchased a TFO Lefty Kreh Professional rod, 5wt 9ft. 4pc. and a Ross CLA2 reel. I would like some ideas on what fly line, backing, leader, etc. would be best. Any advice would be appreciated, Thanks.

What are you fishing for? Trout?

TaylerW
10-26-2009, 01:03 PM
if your fishing for trout, imho the best line overall is the rio gold, and with a 5wt you wont need to much backing, so id just go with your run of the mill 20lb spun backing....

and in the area of leaders ect. it just depends on the type of fishing your planning on doing. pick up some three packs of tapered leaders, like from 3-5x, and then tippet from 4x-6x. that will pretty much set you up for most trout situations in california.

hope this helps

Hairstacker
10-26-2009, 04:09 PM
Well, if I was in your shoes, here is what I would do:

1. Fly Line -- I would pick up a weight-forward 6 weight fly line, even though your rod was labelled as a 5 wt. by the manufacturer. By uplining it to a 6 wt. line, you'll feel the rod load better and it will help you learn to time your cast by feel (although you should also be watching the line the whole time when first learning to cast so you get the timing down). The box will be labelled "WF6F" or "WF-6-F." Lots of brand choices here, it really depends on your budget . . . figure on spending somewhere in the $40 - $70 range plus tax.

2. Backing -- Get 100 yards of Scientific Anglers 20 lb dacron backing.