PDA

View Full Version : Help a newbie out?

Jay
10-05-2009, 11:03 PM
Hey guys, I think it is finally time that I start tying my own. I have been building my own big bass baits for a few years, and have locked up thousands of dollars in that, so i have been reluctant to do the same with fly tying.

But I am tired of always having to hunt down what I want, when I need it.

My real question is what is the best way to get into tying.

I guess what I mean is what should I get to start with, that will not be inadequate ( therefore a waste of money) 6 months down the road. All of the "Kits" I have seen seem to be pretty mickey mouse.

Unfortunately, cost is an issue. Work is pretty thin for a carpenter these days.

Thanks for the advice
Jay

Ed Wahl
10-05-2009, 11:53 PM
You've opened a can of worms with that question Jay. What you "need" to start out is fairly simple. What fly's do you want to tie? Start out with those. Read some books, there's tons out there. Show up at the shop on Saturday, you can get a big jump start from David Lee. His rates are really quite reasonable.;-)

I've got a Thompson vise sitting here not doing anything, yours if you want it. Bought it at The Fly Hutch many moons ago, but still very usable.

Fly tying will be a mere pittance compared to what you've shelled out for those swimbaits, but the education you pick up once you start tying will be priceless.

And you can just break off those fly's stuck up in trees and just tie on another one.

It's Delta Striper time, are you with bass boat?

Ed

Jgoding
10-06-2009, 06:50 AM
Probably the best way to get into tying is to look at what flies you are going to be tying and then buy materials for those flies only. Start with 2-3 flies then work your way up. Also, don't be afraid to substitute materials for each other.