PDA

View Full Version : 6 wt switch/line problems

Big Jim
09-21-2009, 10:54 PM
I built a 6 wt 10'6" switch on a batson rainshadow blank. Action is fairly soft. Frankly, I don't really know how best to use this rod. My idea was that it would be good for swinging flies for summer run fish casting 2 handed. I had it up on the Klamath and a few other rivers last season and ended up mostly casting it overhand. It does ok 2 handed with a 6 or 7 wieght floater but I actually get more distance overhand. couldnt do much with it 2 handed with a sinktip or a shooting head system. I am trying to figure out if it is just me or if this rod just wont handle any wieght... or maybe there is a better line for it somewhere. maybe its not meant for for a tip. I am self taught at 2 handed casting so that also may be the problem. Anyway, if anyone has used this rod, I am looking to define what it is good for, and whether i need to get a different one to handle tips, get more distance, etc.

thanks

Jim

aaron
09-21-2009, 11:14 PM
It does ok 2 handed with a 6 or 7 wieght floater

If that's a 6 or 7 weight single hand line then you may be under loaded. You might check out a switch specific line like the Beulah Elixir switch.

Fochetti
09-22-2009, 01:41 AM
I was also going to suggest the Elixir, have it on a 5 wt switch and it's great.

SPG
09-22-2009, 07:26 AM
If your rod is the 1086-4 Batson, then Gary Anderson makes a custom Line or head (casters choice) for that rod. Gary can build it as a floater or as a multi tip with his new ZINK TIPS, any length, welded loops, 6 inches per second sink, 6 or 10 grains per foot for that rod, 14 and 19 grains per foot for bigger sticks. Call him, if it is not one of the 108 series call me. IT IS MORE IMPORTANT TO HAVE THE RIGHT LINE THAT THE RIGHT ROD, Gary, Bob Meiser and I have developed more that 100 specific line recipes for specific rods, mostly theirs but some others and they can be tweaked for individual prefrences. Steve 541-840-2594

Big Jim