PDA

View Full Version : Flatwings for trout?

MarcP
09-21-2009, 06:57 PM
David Lee's thread about junglecock-eyed-flatwinged streamers got me wondering if anyone out there ties or fishes classic freshwater flatwings. I grew up in Maine fishing classic flatwing streamers for brook trout and salmon. Since I've moved to CA I have yet to give them a shot. So, does anyone fish or tie them, and if so which patterns, and what type of water have you had luck with them?

Here's a very humble looking Gray Ghost I tied; this is the quintessential Maine flatwing streamer:

http://www.myfishingpictures.com/data/500/medium/IMGP0509.JPG

Thanks,

Marc P.

Darian
09-21-2009, 08:26 PM
Marc,.... I've been tying some classic Maine streamers for many years.... Met Mike Martinek at the San Mateo ISE show one year and learned more about it than I thought was possible. I still have a couple of his streamers in my collection. 8-)

With the exception of the Black Ghost, I don't fish them, often. in their true sizes and configurations, they're more of a trolling fly. Many classic Maine streamers are size 4 thru 1 and may include a tied in trailer hook. Might be very good behind a float tube.... 8-)

Good looking streamer in the photo. Meaning no disrespect, the fly you have pictured doesn't appear to be a flat wing pattern as I understand them to be. My understanding is that in flat wing patterns, the hackles used in the wings are tied in flat (stacked) on top of the hook shank. So that when viewed from the side, the concave side of the hackle is facing downward toward the shank. Some patterns call for a couple of hackles tied in concave side up and a couple tied in concave side down. Creating a straighter profile. A good example of a flat wing fly is the Nine-Three. :nod:

MarcP
09-21-2009, 08:45 PM