PDA

View Full Version : Equipment Purchases for the Newbie

Dean Y.
09-12-2009, 12:29 PM
hi,
Apologies if this has been done lots of times. The search function did not turn up much on my question.

I'm new to flyfishing. I have a 5wt rod and reel, waders, and boots that I picked up from Kiene's.

I don't need much else right now as I'm not really fishing, I'm pretty much just casting :D. That said, I'm would like to get some input into "must have" (if there are any) startup equipment for beginners. I figure I'll need a vest, net, and probably lots of other things. What else?

What should I consider in my purchases? For example, vests seem to come in lots of varieties. What elements/funtions are important to consider for these new purchases?

I'll be fishing for trout and steelhead almost exclusively for now. And, I don't have a huge budget to work with.

Thanks!

Hairstacker
09-12-2009, 01:08 PM
Essentials? Fly rod, reel, fly line, backing, couple of leaders, tippet material, box of flies, fly floatant, some bobbers and split-shot if you plan on nymphing, nippers attached to a zinger to cut monofilament, hemostats to fish out deeply hooked flies, and a hook sharpener to keep your fly hooks sticky sharp. Pliers are handy for mashing down hook barbs. Unless I've overlooked something, that's it, everything else falls more into the "nice-to-have" category.

For the type of fishing you plan on doing, I'd also like to have a net, and depending on where I was going, a wading stick.

As far as vests, there's a lot of personal preference involved in such a decision, with some preferring vests, others preferring shoulder slings, chest packs, waist packs, or lanyards.