PDA

View Full Version : Streamer fishing

Hoser41
08-25-2009, 01:09 PM
Well I'm heading to Alaska next week to fish for salmon. I believe I will be throwing streamers (newbie here). My question is how do I cast...is it like trowing dries or like nymphing. If it is like nymphing how do I not get tangled. Tht seems to be a big problem with me

chapmag
08-25-2009, 01:52 PM
Google the title terms for websites that describe this cast. Also called the Belgian, oval, and constant tension cast.

From the midcurrent.com website:

"The Belgian cast — with its side-arm backcast, elliptical motion, and overhead release — helps keep the end of the line moving, which doesn't allow heavy flies or lines the chance to drag your line downward toward the water."

I would add that the cast also doesn't allow heavy flies the chance to embed themselves in your ear or other body parts. Painful personal experience...

Jet
08-25-2009, 02:47 PM