PDA

View Full Version : New to Chico area

bro_hair
08-12-2009, 06:07 PM
Hello everyone!
I am new to the Chico area (just moved in) and am looking for some good spots close to the area to fly fish and pick up something. Im ready to get into some awesome rainbows, steelhead, salmon and what ever else is out there! Any information on spots to go or little creeks in the area would be awesome! I am fairly knowledgable in fishing around the roseville and truckee/tahoe area! So lets exchange some tips! I am new to the message board so feel free to quiz me or provide any information. Anything would be awesome!

Gulicemo
08-12-2009, 10:04 PM
Go talk to the guys in the Chico Fly Shop off of 8th avenue or Sierra Mountain and stream off of 5th street next to Joe's Bar for the latest reports. Both shops are straight shooters and they wil point you in the right directions. August is tough fishing due to the heat but come late september and october it will pick back up. good luck

aaron
08-12-2009, 10:30 PM
Welcome to town, stop in any of the shops and hit them up for info. I'm a bit biased towards SSM (maybe because I work there?). You have a lot of small streams close by, as well as the Sac, Feather, and Yuba to explore. Real steelhead are only a couple of hours away and you are close by to Almanor for the hex. Lots of fishing to explore plus a ton of other recreation as well. August is kind of a tough month with the heat. One more thing...get used to Keystone... :-&

CODY
08-12-2009, 10:38 PM
I would check out Fish First in Chico, Go talk to Mac. Tell him cody from the Albany/berkeley store sent ya. He'll set u up.

bro_hair
08-13-2009, 02:41 AM