PDA

View Full Version : Line recommendations for a beginner

Kurt P
04-25-2009, 12:57 PM
I’ve been itching to try my hand at Shad and am planning on heading to Kiene’s to pick up a line set up and some flies. I have a good idea about what flies to pick up from the other recent thread, and I have a vague understanding about the lines some people use, but I’m pretty new to fly fishing overall, and I mostly use a floating line, so my comprehension regarding other lines is pretty remedial. I understand the basics about what shooting lines and sink tips are, but things start to spin when I read about ‘200-250-300 lines,’ ‘type 2 and type 4 shooting heads,’ etc.

I have an 8’ 8wt TFO Ti Cr X rod and was thinking that would be the better rod to use for shad than my 5 wt Z-axis. If so, what do people suggest as a good basic line set up for using a single-handed rod for shad?

Finally, I’m also eager to try for stripers, too, and was wondering if any of the different ways to set up my ‘shad spool’ would be workable for stripes?

Thanks,

Kurt

Jasonh
04-25-2009, 08:02 PM
Hi Kurt,

There are a variety of options when it comes to lines for stripers and shad. You can go the shooting head route or sinktip type lines like the Teeny or Airflo Depth finder series. For ease of casting i really like the Airflo Depth Finder lines and these I feel would be a bit easier to cast for both stripers and shad. You could get the 200, 260, or 300 grain. Personally, I would opt for 200 and 260 especially if wade fishing. Just my 2 cents worth. Give us a call or come by the shop and we can go into even more detail if you would like. Hope this helps a bit. Take care.

Jason Hartwick

Ed Wahl
04-25-2009, 08:55 PM
Kurt, you can use your 8wt for both.